## Reprinted by kind permission of Alan Newman and Kent Messenger <u>Group</u>

## Alan Newman's athletics reports appear in the Kent Messenger each Friday

## KENT MEN'S CROSS COUNTRY LEAGUE FINAL

Tom Collins of Medway and Maidstone won the final Kent Men's cross country league race of the season at Swanley on Saturday but Huw Evans of Tonbridge AC is the 2010-11 individual champion, writes Alan Newman.

Collins had threatened to win his first Kent league race all winter and he finally delivered on this tight and technical circuit in the grounds of Parkwood School. His margin was a comfortable one at 30 seconds over Ben Whiffen and Julian Rendall of the team champions, Tonbridge AC.

M&M had the next finisher in Ben Tyler before Huw Evans justified missing the British Masters championships in Birmingham by sweeping to the men's title in fifth place.

Adrian Lowther (6th) and Andrejs Safars (12th) completed M&M's team but the superb packing of top masters Darrell Smith (7th) and Graeme Saker (8th) won the day and the overall team award. Smith is the M40 masters winner and Ray Pearce of Istead and Ifield Harriers is the leading M50.

Medway and Maidstone had fought hard for the Kent Messenger Cup this season but Tonbridge made it three wins in succession after toppling M&M in 2009 and 2010. Blackheath and Bromley Harriers held on to their third place despite not troubling the team scorers in the final match.

At twelve-to-score in the Duodec Cup there was further success for Tonbridge AC from Blackheath and Bromley Harriers and Tunbridge Wells Harriers.

**Kent Messenger Cup**: 1 Tonbridge 47, 2 Medway and Maidstone 44, 3 Blackheath and Bromley Harriers 33, 4 Cambridge Harriers 33, 5 Tunbridge Wells Harriers 28, 6 Invicta East Kent 23.

**<u>Duodec Cup</u>**: 1 Tonbridge 11, 2 Blackheath and Bromley Harriers 7, 3 Tunbridge Wells Harriers 7.

Individuals: 1 Huw Evans (Ton) 15, 2 Tom Collins (M&M) 18, 3 Dan Bradley (Ton) 25, 4 Darrell Smith (M40, Ton) 38, 5 James Hogg (M&M) 55, 6 David Weekes (M40, Folk) 109. M50: Ray Pearce (I&I).

## KENT WOMEN'S CROSS COUNTRY LEAGUE FINAL

Deirdre McDermott of Tonbridge AC secured the Kent Women's cross country league title with an imperious display at Swanley on Saturday, writes Alan Newman.

McDermott finished almost a minute clear of 2008 champion, Helena Penfold of Medway and Maidstone, to win her third consecutive league title in identical fashion to her previous successes by winning three of the four league races.

Jennie Butler of Blackheath and Bromley Harriers finished third to complete the top three on the day and overall. With Jane Bradshaw and Andrea Pickup next to finish for B&B the three-to-score trophy went to the club based at the Sydney Wooderson Centre in Hayes. Claire Gaskill of Istead and Ifield was sixth in the final race.

Medway and Maidstone were a close second with Amy Tanner (7th) and Bernadette Harrop (10th) running well in support. Tonbridge AC finished third overall despite fielding an incomplete team in the last event.

**Kent Women's Trophy**: 1 Blackheath and Bromley Harriers 41, 2 Medway and Maidstone 39, 3 Tonbridge 32, 4 Beckenham RRC 28, 5 Folkestone RC 24, 6 Invicta East Kent 19.

Individuals: 1 Deirdre McDermott (Ton) 5, 2 Helena Penfold (M&M) 13, 3 Jennie Butler (W35, B&B) 21, 4 Jane Bradshaw (W35, B&B) 35, 5 Melanie Burdett (W35, Beck) 55, 6 Bernadette Harrop (W35, M&M) 75. W45: Carol Grady (Kent). W55: Pat Halstead (Dart).

Alan Newman